Operating System Discs not supplied with new Computers. Advi

Doc.AElstein
BronzeLounger

Operating System Discs not supplied with new Computers. Advi

Post by Doc.AElstein »

Operating System Discs not supplied with new Computers. Advice on getting and using them
Hi
I am asking what experience others have had with obtaining and using operating system discs.
Also I am looking for some advice over my current experience with a computer dealer that is making me a bit nervous.

I am not talking here about trying to install a new system. I am only interested in routinely re installing my present operating system..

The story is this:
For a couple of Months I have been thinking about getting a new computer or Laptop. Over the past few years I have often had problems with viruses, computer being slow, bogged down with unwanted stuff etc.. etc..
I am clued up from the threads here on all the cleaning, security software etc.. etc.. I have some limited experience and success cleaning, running virus checkers etc. etc._...
_..But:
One piece of advice I have often had along the way from experienced computer people is to reinstall the Operating System. ( I do realize this means that all data and programs I install will be lost, - this is acceptable to me)

In fact some professionals say they keep as little as possible on their computer, and then regularly re install the Operating system ( and then necessarily re – install some programs ) as a matter of course.

This seems like a good idea to me. – “Wipe the slate clean and be done with it”. The problem is that I have never had any operation system discs supplied with any computer I have bought over the last few years, even when were new.
Furthermore , all the local dealers and all the dealers in internet that I have spoken to say that operating system discs have not been supplied with new computers for many years.

I finally took the plunge and bought this laptop a couple of days ago: