Restrict viewable files

ABabeNChrist
SilverLounger

Restrict viewable files

Post by ABabeNChrist »

I’m still really new to setting up websites, but I have a question regarding viewable files attached to my website. I have a few PDF files that can be viewed from my website, while some others are restricted. What I noticed was when I did a Google search using my website name it would come back with a few hits on different pages of my website that refer to different files that are not restricted, that parts OK, but I noticed when I only remove the file name

Before

http://www.mywebsite.net/files/Program_Guide.pdf" onclick="window.open(this.href);return false;

After

http://www.mywebsite.net/files/" onclick="window.open(this.href);return false;

that it would then open to a webpage labeled
Index of files, with a list of all files new and old
From there I can view any and all files with no restriction.
Is this only viewable from my computer or is this viewable to all.

agibsonsw
SilverLounger

Re: Restrict viewable files

Post by agibsonsw »

I believe you need to store files one folder up in the hierarchy to make them inaccessible. That is, one folder up from your root directory.
If not they remain accessible. Andy.
"I'm here to save your life. But if I'm going to do that, I'll need total uninanonynymity." Me Myself & Irene.

ABabeNChrist
SilverLounger

Post by ABabeNChrist »

I understand that makes since. But how do I remove the already uploaded files so that they will no longer are accessible at the present location. The reason why I ask is I noticed that there are some old files on this list that I thought were deleted.

StuartR
Administrator

Post by StuartR »

ABabeNChrist wrote:...how do I remove the already uploaded files so that they will no longer are accessible at the present location...
How do you currently upload files to your web site?