Overkill credit card security?

ChrisGreaves
PlutoniumLounger

Overkill credit card security?

Post by ChrisGreaves »

1.JPG
I went to register online with one of my credit cards this morning.
The usual information required- card number, expiry date, name-as-appears-on-card, address-as-appears-on-invoice etc.
Mother's maiden name (another reason my autobiography will have to be posthumous)
Then I had to select three questions and provide security answers.
Well OK.
Name-of-my-fathers-mothers-first-pet-dog-in-a-foreign-country sort of thing.
Then I had to select an image and type in a simple chunk of text.
I've not met this before.
The images are corny - a boat, a bike, a forest, and the text message I chose ran something like "I can't believe this will be less work than keying through a phone menu".
Once it was all set up, I closed and reopened the browser, logged in and thought that my chosen image and text was corny.
I'm new at this, so I went to change it.
It can't be changed, period!
I suppose that keeps it very secure.
But I phoned anyway. Turns out if I de-enrol and re-enrol it will let me start fresh, but I don't believe the help desk.
I suspect the world will come crashing down if I try to re-enrol with the same credit card number.

All in all this seems to me to be a case of paranoid overkill in security.
I feel I am much more at risk from an unscrupulous merchant than a net hacker.

I know that theft-of-number-in-bulk occurs when laptops are left in taxi-cabs, but all of the above seems geared towards someone working out how to get into the credit card site.
Which suggests to me that the owners have little confidence in what they have built.

So why release it for public use? :shrug:
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
There's nothing heavier than an empty water bottle

BobH
UraniumLounger

Re: Overkill credit card security?

Post by BobH »