VB.Net noob

agibsonsw
SilverLounger

VB.Net noob

Post by agibsonsw »

Hello.
I have extensive experience with VBA and need to get to grips with VB.Net. I've a couple of huge books(!) but to get me started with Windows Forms I just need to re-produce (or find the alternative(s) for) features that I'm familiar with from VBA and Access forms. Brief pointers on the following questions would help me a lot:

1) With a 'CheckedListBox' it requires two ticks to select a checkbox. Is this the expected behaviour or is their a piece of code I can add to make it check the box immediately?
2) Is there a way to associate a label with a textbox? That is, to add a label at the same time as a textbox, and move them together? (I can temporarily group them by lasso-ing them but I can't see an option to "group" them more permanently.)
3) How can I programmatically add items to a combo-box? A form has a load event, which I assume is equivalent to the former VBA/Form 'Initialize' event(?), but the combo-box doesn't have an 'AddItem' method, or similar, that I can see?

Andy.

Edited: For question 3) I've just discovered that I can use 'Items.Add("Something")' :cheers: . Is the form-load event the recommended/correct event to do this?
"I'm here to save your life. But if I'm going to do that, I'll need total uninanonynymity." Me Myself & Irene.

HansV
Administrator

Re: VB.Net noob

Post by HansV »

The On Load event of a form is indeed the way to populate controls that aren't bound to a data source.
Best wishes,
Hans

agibsonsw
SilverLounger

Re: VB.Net noob

Post by agibsonsw »

HansV wrote:The On Load event of a form is indeed the way to populate controls that aren't bound to a data source.
Thank you Hans. I'm applying some 'MIcrosoft logic' to my questions: