How to Convert 32bit access to 64bit?

siamandm
5StarLounger
Posts: 1192
Joined: 01 May 2016, 09:58

How to Convert 32bit access to 64bit?

Post by siamandm »

Hello everyone
How to convert a database created with 32-bit version to be open with 64 bit version of Microsoft access

Regards

User avatar
HansV
Administrator
Posts: 78236
Joined: 16 Jan 2010, 00:14
Status: Microsoft MVP
Location: Wageningen, The Netherlands

Re: How to Convert 32bit access to 64bit?

Post by HansV »

Most features should work without change. Here are some of the things to check:

Do you use ActiveX controls? Most or all of those won't work in the 64-bit version; you'll have to remove them and find a way to do without them.

Do you use Windows API functions? You can find them by looking for lines near the top of a code module that begin with Declare, Public Declare or Private Declare. Here is an example:

Code: Select all

Private Declare Function WNetGetUserA Lib "mpr.dll" _
    (ByVal lpszLocalName As String, ByVal lpszUserName As String, lpcchBuffer As Long) As Long
All such declarations will have to be modified. See Declaring API functions in 64 bit Office
Best wishes,
Hans

siamandm
5StarLounger
Posts: 1192
Joined: 01 May 2016, 09:58

Re: How to Convert 32bit access to 64bit?

Post by siamandm »

Thank you for the reply
Im getting this error message
CC5CA0FF-CC0F-4D10-8E35-C651360E63E4.jpeg
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

User avatar
HansV
Administrator
Posts: 78236
Joined: 16 Jan 2010, 00:14
Status: Microsoft MVP
Location: Wageningen, The Netherlands

Re: How to Convert 32bit access to 64bit?

Post by HansV »

What is the extension of your database? Is it .accdb or .accde?
Best wishes,
Hans

siamandm
5StarLounger
Posts: 1192
Joined: 01 May 2016, 09:58

Re: How to Convert 32bit access to 64bit?

Post by siamandm »

It is accdb

Regards

User avatar
HansV
Administrator
Posts: 78236
Joined: 16 Jan 2010, 00:14
Status: Microsoft MVP
Location: Wageningen, The Netherlands

Re: How to Convert 32bit access to 64bit?

Post by HansV »

That's strange. The only suggestion I have is to uninstall the 64-bit version of Office and to install the 32-bit version. The 64-bit version has many disadvantages and only very few advantages.
Best wishes,
Hans

siamandm
5StarLounger
Posts: 1192
Joined: 01 May 2016, 09:58

Re: How to Convert 32bit access to 64bit?

Post by siamandm »

Thank you for advice i will try this and see how it goes