Strategy for Implementing an SSHD

BobH
UraniumLounger

Strategy for Implementing an SSHD

Post by BobH »

After putting it off for months - years even - I finally pulled the string on a Crucial 250GB solid state hard drive. It has not yet been delivered; so I have not yet installed it or ported windows to it. Viewing properties on my C: drive shows that I've got 229GB out of 238GB available as it is currently configured. About 92GB of that is in my User account which I will not put on the SSHD; so I should have plenty of room.

I've read some web pages relating that, with care, it is possible to clone the existing Win 7 install to the new SSHD. It seems a straightforward process, but I've never done any disk cloning before and don't know what it will entail or if my skills are up to mark. I would do a full back up of the existing internal drives and disconnect the external drives before beginning the SSHD install. In fact, I think that I will rename the externals (6 of them) Z, Y, X, W, V, and U before dismounting them. That way I should prevent any conflicts when I re-mount them. I would also purge my existing C: drive of the User directory then defrag it before attempting to clone it to the SSHD. The new SSHD after cloning should have 229-92=137GB in use leaving almost 50% of the SSHD available for growth from upgrades and software additions.

Can those of you who have done this critique my approach and/or suggest a better strategy for the upgrade? I would prefer not to have to reinstall Win 7 HPE as I doubt I'd ever recover my settings and tweaks.

TIA
:cheers: :chocciebar: :thankyou:
Bob's yer Uncle
(1/2)(1+√5)
Dell Intel Core i5 Laptop, 3570K,1.60 GHz, 8 GB RAM, Windows 11 64-bit, LibreOffice,and other bits and bobs

viking33
PlatinumLounger

Re: Strategy for Implementing an SSHD

Post by viking33 »

Bob,