Windows 10 Technical Preview

BobArch2
BronzeLounger

Windows 10 Technical Preview

Post by BobArch2 »

So, has anyone jumped on the band wagon and signed up for W10TP? :flee:

I have decided that I have too much spare time on my hands and decided to give it a whirl. I have signed on and have downloaded the iso file. But first I need to learn about setting up a virtual machine.

In a recent Windows Secrets newsletter, Fred Langa wrote up an extensive article on the process of setting up a VM and installing W10TP.

So, time to do more research on setting up a VM along with any problems installing application software in that environment.

I would be interested in hearing about any issues in setting up W10TP and a VM.
Regards,
Bob

PaulB
BronzeLounger

Re: Windows 10 Technical Preview

Post by PaulB »

I have no experience with VM, and am reluctant to experiment with two new environments at once. (Think 'who to blame if something goes wrong'.)

On the other hand, I have always installed every new release of Windows in a dual boot environment, so I could experiment with it in the real world without the overhead of operating under VM. I could always fall back to my 'production' environment if and when needed. This is how I'm testing Win 10.

Not trying to dissuade you, just throwing in my :2cents: .
Regards,
Paul

The pessimist complains about the wind. The optimist expects it to change. The realist adjusts his sails.

BobArch2
BronzeLounger

Post by BobArch2 »

PaulB wrote:I have no experience with VM, and am reluctant to experiment with two new environments at once. (Think 'who to blame if something goes wrong'.)

On the other hand, I have always installed every new release of Windows in a dual boot environment, so I could experiment with it in the real world without the overhead of operating under VM. I could always fall back to my 'production' environment if and when needed. This is how I'm testing Win 10.

Not trying to dissuade you, just throwing in my :2cents: .