Online access to a Giant Brain - WITHOUT WINDOWS 10 !!!

User avatar
ChrisGreaves
PlutoniumLounger
Posts: 11701
Joined: 24 Jan 2010, 23:23
Location: paused.undefined.exposed

Online access to a Giant Brain - WITHOUT WINDOWS 10 !!!

Post by ChrisGreaves »

Tomorrow's World: Home Computer Terminal 20 September 1967 - BBC
(It doubles as an alarm clock, so no need for an Android smart phone!)

I said "Giant Brain" because they did, and - get a load of this - it is TEN MILES AWAY.
I said "Without Windows" because Rex's bed-sit in Highgate looks marginally worse than did my bed-sit in Wimbledon (near the train station), and he is, or was, an Industrial Consultant whereas in 1978 I was a humble but industrious contract programmer. MY window looked over Worple Road, and across the top of the double-decker buses.

Cheers
Chris
More than the minimum is less than enough

User avatar
ChrisGreaves
PlutoniumLounger
Posts: 11701
Joined: 24 Jan 2010, 23:23
Location: paused.undefined.exposed

Re: Online access to a Giant Brain - WITHOUT WINDOWS 10 !!!

Post by ChrisGreaves »

And if you thought that THAT was revolutionary, how about a casette-tape system that tells you when to turn left?!!???

The only downside I could see was that you had to tell the control unit the diameter of your tyres (2m 11s).
The only other downside seems to be that you need a different cassette tape(1m17s) for a different route. (Now let's see, the M1, the M2, the A383, the B4296, ...)

I'm not sure whether the sports jacket has to have leather patches on the elbows. I would be disqualified anyway on account of my current hair cut.

Cheers
Chris
More than the minimum is less than enough

User avatar
RonH
BronzeLounger
Posts: 1597
Joined: 02 Mar 2010, 16:53
Location: An Aussie in Norway

Re: Online access to a Giant Brain - WITHOUT WINDOWS 10 !!!

Post by RonH »

Brilliant ... thanks for the links.
"Those were the days my friend ... " but in Post a Reply I am being told my message contains too few characters. We shall see as I try to post this ...
CYa Ron
W10 pc, Android toys.
The only reason we have the 4th dimension of Time is so that everything does not happen at once.

User avatar
ChrisGreaves
PlutoniumLounger
Posts: 11701
Joined: 24 Jan 2010, 23:23
Location: paused.undefined.exposed

Re: Online access to a Giant Brain - WITHOUT WINDOWS 10 !!!

Post by ChrisGreaves »

RonH wrote:
20 Nov 2020, 17:46
... I am being told my message contains too few characters.
That's never been a problem for me! :evilgrin: :laugh: :rofl:
(even at the 10cps of a TTY)
Cheers
Chris
More than the minimum is less than enough

User avatar
HansV
Administrator
Posts: 69834
Joined: 16 Jan 2010, 00:14
Status: Microsoft MVP
Location: Wageningen, The Netherlands

Re: Online access to a Giant Brain - WITHOUT WINDOWS 10 !!!

Post by HansV »

ChrisGreaves wrote:
20 Nov 2020, 18:13
That's never been a problem for me!
That because you count as a character yourself, Chris!
Regards,
Hans

User avatar
ChrisGreaves
PlutoniumLounger
Posts: 11701
Joined: 24 Jan 2010, 23:23
Location: paused.undefined.exposed

Re: Online access to a Giant Brain - WITHOUT WINDOWS 10 !!!

Post by ChrisGreaves »

HansV wrote:
20 Nov 2020, 19:14
That because you count as a character yourself, Chris!
:thankyou: Hans, I think :scratch:
Cheers
Chris
More than the minimum is less than enough

LisaGreen
5StarLounger
Posts: 817
Joined: 08 Nov 2012, 17:54

Re: Online access to a Giant Brain - WITHOUT WINDOWS 10 !!!

Post by LisaGreen »

Then there was the tv experiment from tomorrows world that sent out a program for the bbc machine.... which I tried!

User avatar
ChrisGreaves
PlutoniumLounger
Posts: 11701
Joined: 24 Jan 2010, 23:23
Location: paused.undefined.exposed

Re: Online access to a Giant Brain - WITHOUT WINDOWS 10 !!!

Post by ChrisGreaves »

LisaGreen wrote:
23 Nov 2020, 17:21
Then there was the tv experiment from tomorrows world that sent out a program for the bbc machine.... which I tried!
Hi Lisa; I can see where you're coming from!!

Cheers
Chris
More than the minimum is less than enough