Can't add reference the specified file Word2003

ChrisGreaves
PlutoniumLounger

Can't add reference the specified file Word2003

Post by ChrisGreaves »

How to make Word2010 make a reference to a 2010 dotM library?

I found this post from Charlotte, How to set a reference in Access 2007?, but couldn't find any other mention of this problem.
I am a novice at migrating 2003 VBA code to 2007/2010 templates.

I am at the client site; Word 2010 version 14.0.6123.5001 (32 bit)
At home I run Word 2003.

I have emailed to myself at the client site a copy of my own application template Styles106.dot.
Styles106.dot requires a reference to my own Word 2003 utility library UW.dot.
I save my emailed copy of Styles106.dot as Styles106.dotM on the client's machine.
I emailed to myself at the client site the collection of *.bas, *.frm etc from UW.dot, and cloned a copy of Styles106.dotM and removed all the modules to make an empty UW.dotM, .
I have painfully File, Inserted about fifty modules into UW.dotM, set references to Microsoft Scripting controls et al, and got a clean compile of UW.dotM.

Poured myself a fresh coffee.

Opened my Word 2003 Styles106.dot, now saved as Styles106.dotM.
Chosen Tools, References.
Noted the missing UW.dot
Browsed to the newly-imported UW.dotM.
And get this: :hairout:
untitled.JPG
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
He who plants a seed, plants life.

richardbarrett
NewLounger

Re: Can't add reference the specified file Word2003

Post by richardbarrett »

Is UW.dotm loaded? Is it in the Word Startup folder? If so, you should not need to browse for it; it should be listed in the Available References. If it's not loaded, I don't think a dotm file can be used as a Reference. (A document template loads when a document on which it is based is open. When that document is closed, the template unloads. A Startup template is loaded throughout the Word session and available as a Reference.)

ChrisGreaves