.bat file to deploy database from server

Leesha
BronzeLounger

.bat file to deploy database from server

Post by Leesha »

Hi,
It was suggested to me that I could write a .bat file to deploy an access database from a server to multiple workstations vs having to log into each one. Now this is an awesome idea but I've got no experience in writing .bat files. Has anyone done this ?

Thanks,
Leesha

HansV
Administrator

Re: .bat file to deploy database from server

Post by HansV »

That's not an Access question - if you don't receive a reply here soon I'll move this thread to a Windows forum. I'm sure our resident batch file expert John Gray will have a suggestion.
Best wishes,
Hans

Leesha
BronzeLounger

Post by Leesha »

Awesome! I wasn't sure where to put this one and I knew you'd move it if needed!
Thanks,
Leesha :scratch:

John Gray
PlatinumLounger

Post by John Gray »

Leesha wrote:Hi,
It was suggested to me that I could write a .bat file to deploy an access database from a server to multiple workstations vs having to log into each one. Now this is an awesome idea but I've got no experience in writing .bat files. Has anyone done this ?
It all depends what you mean by "deploy"! Are you asking how to copy a .MDB file from a server to the C: drives of multiple workstations (which can be accessed by the administrative share \\pcname\c$ )?

If so, yes, it is pretty trivial - presuming that the workstations run XP. If it's Vista or Windows 7 there can be all sorts of permissions problems, depending on which is the target directory.

If you can supply more details, then I can have a bash...

It will end up being vaguely like:

Code: Select all

for %%a in (PC1 PC2 PC3 PC4) do copy \\server\sharename\sourcedir\Leesha.mdb \\%%a\C$\targetdir
but a bit more Stuff will need putting round it!
John Gray

If you are having problems with solitude, you are not alone.

Leesha
BronzeLounger

Post by Leesha »

Hi!