Run Macro in Another Database

tcarriero
NewLounger

Run Macro in Another Database

Post by tcarriero »

Is it possible to run a macro located in another database? I thought that perhaps I was on to something when I found TransferDatabase in the macro options but that would only allow me to import, export or link. There may be some kind of code that I could use on the on click button option on the form but I'm no expert here. lol

Any suggestions you can offer will be appreciated.

HansV
Administrator

Re: Run Macro in Another Database

Post by HansV »

You have to open the other database in another instance of Access in order to run a macro in it. But keep in mind that the macro will run in the other database, not in the currently active database. Is that what you want?
Best wishes,
Hans

tcarriero
NewLounger

Post by tcarriero »

Hans,
I've made a mess.

There are three different groups that use dealer information. Over time, I've built 3 small databases for them to work with. It's to the point where they really should be combined so the data can be shared between the groups. I really have to keep a handle on the size of the database because the information is not only shared on our network, some users will be remote.

At the time that they were built, they were put together kind of adhock but as they saw the value of Access, the databases grew. My first attempt was to simply bring all of the information into one database. This was a disaster because some of the buttons and so forth carried the same names and it was quite large.

Because I will be starting from scratch, I decided to try my hand at the frontend / backend application. I'm at the ground floor. I realize I haven't given you a lot of information but with your experience do you think that will be a good approach. I would hate to continue on the frontend/backend path if there's a better way to go about this.

Combined Database Issues: multiple user - network - remote users, connecting with highspeedD