Hiding part of a text fields input

teachesms
2StarLounger

Hiding part of a text fields input

Post by teachesms »

I have another question with Access tonight (2 right in a row), I'm on a roll.

Is there a way to hide a portion of a data fields input...example I type in 9 Social Security Numbers into a text field. I only want the last 4 to be visible. Is it possible? I know you can password a whole field and ********* will appear, but I DO want the last 4 to show.

I'm thinking there isn't a way, but hey...I got to ask.
If you can't convince them, confuse them - Harry S. Truman

Nannette

Claude
cheese lizard

Re: Hiding part of a text fields input

Post by Claude »

I'm by no means an Access expert, but, why don't you have two fields next to each other: one 5 character field with password property, then a 4 character normal text field, then concatenate the two together and store in another field not shown on the form...
Cheers, Claude.

HansV
Administrator

Post by HansV »

Claude's suggestion is the easiest workaround.

In the attached sample database, a more complicated approach is demonstrated; it may be more work than it's worth.
TestInput.zip
Two text boxes are used:
One is bound to the SSN field, and is usually hidden.
The other is a calculated control that displays something like *****1234 where 1234 are the last 4 digits of the SSN. This one is usually visible, but locked.
The text boxes have the same size and position.
Next to the text boxes is a command button "Edit". When the user clicks this button, the calculated text box is hidden and the bound text box shown.
In the After Update event of the bound text box, the calculated text box is shown again and the bound text box hidden.
The On Current event of the form shows the bound text box in a new record, and the calculated one in existing records.
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
Best wishes,
Hans

ChrisGreaves
PlutoniumLounger

Post by ChrisGreaves »