Update form

duke_44
2StarLounger

Update form

Post by duke_44 »

Hello, I am working on a form to update a table with many fields. I have 2 questions.
1. The SQL statement is quite large is there a way to shorten this an accomplish the update to the table?
2. As I attempt to enter alpha-numeric information into the text boxes in my form I get an error saying the value entered isn't valid. I can't seem to figure out why.

Thank you for any help provided.

HansV
Administrator

Re: Update form

Post by HansV »

Welcome to Eileen's Lounge!

1) Is SQL statement the record source of the form, or is it an update statement?

2) Are those text boxes bound to fields in the record source of the form, or are they unbound?
Best wishes,
Hans

duke_44
2StarLounger

Post by duke_44 »

I am new to VBA, SQL etc, so I think its an update statement but here is my SQL statement:
'Private Sub btnSave_Click()
' CurrentDb.Execute "INSERT INTO tblVehRec (InspDate, InspType, ServID, ServName, CACC, VIN, License, MTO, Vehicle, VehType, ModYear, Make, Model, FuelType, Odometer, GVWR, Length, Hours, CMVSS, ESA, ConvMan, ConvProdNum, Mnt1, Cot1, Mnt2, Cot2, Veh1, Veh2, Veh3, Veh4, Veh5, Veh6, Veh7, Veh8, Veh9, File1, File2, File3, File4, File5, File6, File7, File8, File9, Add1, Add2, Add3, Add4, Add5, Add6, CertNum, Version) " & _
' " VALUES (" & Me.txtInspDate & ", ' " & Me.cboInsType & " ', '" & Me.txtServID & "', '" & Me.txtServName & "', '" & Me.txtCACC & "','" & _
' Me.txtVIN & "', '" & Me.txtLic & "', '" & Me.txtMTO & "', '" & Me.cboVeh & "', '" & Me.cboType & "', '" & Me.txtMY & "', '" & _
' Me.txtMake & "', '" & Me.txtModel & "', '" & Me.txtModel & "', '" & Me.cboFuel & "', '" & Me.txtOdometer & "', '" & Me.txtGVWR & "', '" & _
' Me.txtLength & "', '" & Me.txtHours & "', '" & Me.cboCMVSS & "', '" & Me.txtESA & "', '" & Me.txtConvMan & "', '" & Me.txtConvNum & "','" & _