Data Macros

Mark L
3StarLounger

Data Macros

Post by Mark L »

I've never used these before, but am considering using them to create a single field to be the Primary Key, combining (and formatting) other fields, rather than using an autonumber field as the PK. For example, here is a sample situation of 4 tables in which each table is the parent of the table immediately below it:

Order
OrderLine
ProductionLot

It is the ProductionLot table that is most affected here. Previously, the Order table would have a PK of OrderNo; the OrderLine table would have a PK of OrderLineID (autonumber) with fields OrderNo and LineNo; and the ProductionLot table would also have an autonumber PK and fields for OrderLineID and LotNo.

Now I'm thinking I could create the OrderLine PK to be a combination of the OrderNo and LineNo, and actually format it so it might look like: 01234-001.
The ProductionLot PK field would be a combination of the OrderLine and LotNo: so it might look like 01234-001-1.

This latter ProductionLot PK field as displayed is what the client uses all the time. It is printed on labels, work orders, production reports, etc. So rather than having to figure out how to format and display it each time I need to produce it, it seems easier to just have the system do it.

Let's take the disk usage off the table. I'm not talking about hundreds of thousands of records where a 4-byte autonumber would use less space than an 11-charter string; this is more like only thousands of records. So I don't think it is a consideration.

Anyone have experience doing this? Any thoughts on pros/cons?
Mark Liquorman
Land O Lakes, FL
see my website http://www.liquorman.net for Access Tips and Tricks, and for my Liquorman Utilities.

HansV
Administrator

Re: Data Macros

Post by HansV »

I don't think you'd need data macros for that. You can keep the separate fields OrderNo, LineNo and LotNo. In the OrderLine table, define a calculated field with formula:

[OrderNo] & "-" & [LineNo]