Question about North wind database

siamandm
BronzeLounger
Posts: 1283
Joined: 01 May 2016, 09:58

Question about North wind database

Post by siamandm »

Hello Everyone,

In the Northwind database, I noticed that there is a form for adding products, which includes a subform for the product vendor. I understand that the same product may be supplied by different vendors, each potentially offering it at a different price. However, in this form, both vendors are shown with the same price. any explanation for this please?
Screenshot 2024-06-13 085401.png
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

User avatar
HansV
Administrator
Posts: 78977
Joined: 16 Jan 2010, 00:14
Status: Microsoft MVP
Location: Wageningen, The Netherlands

Re: Question about North wind database

Post by HansV »

You'd have to ask Microsoft. The developers probably didn't think of it.
Best wishes,
Hans

siamandm
BronzeLounger
Posts: 1283
Joined: 01 May 2016, 09:58

Re: Question about North wind database

Post by siamandm »

Thank you Hans, so you agree with me something is not correct!
any suggestion to do this in right way?

User avatar
Gasman
2StarLounger
Posts: 130
Joined: 22 Feb 2022, 09:04

Re: Question about North wind database

Post by Gasman »

Which version are you looking at?

See https://support.microsoft.com/en-gb/off ... 0ab2757504

Especially
but this template set does not intend to provide a turn-key solution to run any business. It is a showcase of what is possible with Access, which may give you some ideas for your own implementation.
FWIW I see VendorID in several tables, but no Vendor table.
I have mentioned this to one of the developers in another forum by PM.
Using Access 2007/2019.
Give a man a fish and you feed him for a day. Teach a man to fish and you feed him for a lifetime.
Please, please use code tags when posting code snippets, click the </>icon.
Debug.Print is your lifesaver.

siamandm
BronzeLounger
Posts: 1283
Joined: 01 May 2016, 09:58

Re: Question about North wind database

Post by siamandm »

Thank you for the reply Gasman, Im working on version 2.3

Regards

George Hepworth
NewLounger
Posts: 8
Joined: 13 Jun 2024, 12:24

Re: Question about North wind database

Post by George Hepworth »

I already addressed what I assume is the same question at the Microsoft Answers forum. Here's more detail.

Thank you for asking about Northwind.

Northwind Developers Edition is, as has been noted a template. I was part of the team that created it for Microsoft as a contribution to the Access developer community.

You can (and probably should) study the relationships in the template to understand how the data model works.
I do not have permissions yet to post external links, so I'll have to point you to the Learn tab in the ribbon in NW2 Dev for the link to the online expanded view of the relationship window.

You'll see that there is one Company table, with records for all three types of companies, plus Northwind Traders itself.
Customers
Shippers
Vendors
The type of company in Companies is indicated by a field named "CompanyTypeID".

Given that vendors sell Northwind products which Northwind in turn sells to their customers, we used the alias "VendorID" for the CompanyID Foreign Key in the Purchase Orders table. Some people have argued for different aliases, but that's the one we settled on.

BTW, you can also see the same approach to "ShipperID" in the Orders table.

There was an additional question in the other forum about unit costs. Again, this is a template, not a custom application. On a team of 5 people who worked on it, there were up to 5 different opinions about many subjects. We made compromises when necessary, mostly to get the darn project completed within the project timeline.

Thank you for downloading and exploring the Northwind templates. We also encourage everyone to expand or enhancement the templates and share them with others. Access is a strong, growing, product with a great future.

User avatar
HansV
Administrator
Posts: 78977
Joined: 16 Jan 2010, 00:14
Status: Microsoft MVP
Location: Wageningen, The Netherlands

Re: Question about North wind database

Post by HansV »

Hi George, welcome to Eileen's Lounge, and thank you for the clarification!

You should be able to post links now. (And sorry about the earlier glitch, that shouldn't have happened...)
Best wishes,
Hans

User avatar
HansV
Administrator
Posts: 78977
Joined: 16 Jan 2010, 00:14
Status: Microsoft MVP
Location: Wageningen, The Netherlands

Re: Question about North wind database

Post by HansV »

This is the discussion in Microsoft Community: Question about North wind database?

The relationship image can be found here
Best wishes,
Hans

George Hepworth
NewLounger
Posts: 8
Joined: 13 Jun 2024, 12:24

Re: Question about North wind database

Post by George Hepworth »

The glitch was partly on me. I was oblivious to what had happened until too late.

Glad to be here.

grovelli
4StarLounger
Posts: 529
Joined: 26 Jan 2010, 15:14

Re: Question about North wind database

Post by grovelli »

When you open the NWD2.0 you're presented with a message that says something to the like of, "We would like to make you a member of our team etc.".
Well, shouldn't that sentence be found amongst the project VBA code?
I've just realised it's part of the Credentials form :grin:

George Hepworth
NewLounger
Posts: 8
Joined: 13 Jun 2024, 12:24

Re: Question about North wind database

Post by George Hepworth »

Right. That was actually a rather extended discussion about the log in. We wanted to acknowledge that signing in with new credentials might not be a standard approach -- in a production environment, the users would be known ahead of time. We also wanted to offer a more friendly message than, "You must create a sign in to use this database." Many aspects of the templates could be discussed in the same way. A team of people working together can always find things to agree on, and other things to disagree on. We were very lucky to have a good group of people who work well together.